1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

What Are the New Seven Wonders of the World?

Many of Man-Made Wonders Are Accessible via Ocean or River Cruise Tour


Sunrise at The Great Wall. China
Luis Castaneda Inc./The Image Bank/Getty Images
The results of the New Seven Wonders of the World campaign were announced in Lisbon, Portugal on July 7, 2007. The campaign to select the new seven man-made wonders of the world started in September 1999, and people around the world nominated their favorites through December 2005. Twenty-one world class finalists were announced by an international panel of judges on January 1, 2006. The 21 finalists were then posted at the New7Wonders Web site and over 100 million votes from around the world selected the seven winners.

The concept of the New Seven Wonders of the World was based on the Seven Ancient Wonders of the World, which was compiled by Philon of Byzantium in 200 B.C. Philon's list was essentially a travel guide for his fellow Athenians, and all the man-made sites were located in the Mediterranean Sea basin. Unfortunately, only one of the original seven wonders of the ancient world remains today--the Pyramids of Egypt. The other six ancient wonders were: the Lighthouse of Alexandria, the Temple of Artemis, the Statue of Zeus, the Colossus of Rhodes, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus.

Almost all of the top 21 sites are accessible via cruise ship or overnight land extensions, so cruise lovers can use this list for travel planning much like the ancient Athenians did. The New 7 Wonders of the World are:

The 14 other finalist nominees are:

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.